Threat of Sexual Assault: Civil Society in solidarity with Datuk Noor Farida and G25

We, the following civil society organisations, condemn the efforts made to coerce and silence the group of prominent Malays known collectively as G25.

Especially disgusting and obnoxious is the threat of sexual assault made against the group spokesperson, Datuk Noor Farida Ariffin by a Facebook user named Sharul Nizam Ab Rahim following her statement on the issue of khalwat laws during the G25 press conference on  December 6, 2015. He has since claimed unconvincingly that it was meant as sarcasm, and that it was his human right to do so.

Since its establishment, G25 has through its press releases, participation in public forums and in other ways provided important feedback to the government and public on a wide range of governance issues that are critical and crucial to the preservation of our democratic way of life.

Its focus on the role of religion in a modern society is an integral part of its mission which is to work towards making Malaysia a model for the world as a moderate, harmonious and progressive Islamic multicultural democracy and beacon of tolerance. We are in complete solidarity with G25’s mission.

Not only are we coming from different parts of Malaysia and representing many sectors of civil society but we believe the larger Malaysian public values and respects voice of reason and rationality on national issues such as G25 and others.

We call on everyone to engage in a civil, temperate and rational dialogue and to put forth your views politely and civilly. That will serve our nation better than calls for a ban on G25 or threats of violence against their members.

We also call on the authorities and leaders of the ruling coalition parties to speak out and act against threats to G25. It is important that they protect the freedom of expression of all civil society organizations, and not just those that work in their political interests.

This statement is endorsed by the following civil society organisations:

1.All Women’s Action Society (AWAM)
2.Anak Muda Sarawak  (AMS)
3.Angkatan Warga Aman Malaysia (WargaAman)
4.Bersih 2.0
5.Council of Churches Malaysia (CCM)
7.Friends of Kota Damansara
8.  G40
9.  Institut Rakyat
10.  Islamic Renaissance Front (IRF)
11.  Jaringan Kampung Orang Asli Semenanjung Malaysia (JOAS)
12.  Jawatankuasa Bertindak Kuala Lumpur Tak Nak Insinerator (KTI)
13.   LLG Cultural Development Centre (LLG)
14.   Komuniti Muslim Universal Malaysia (KMU)
15.   Majlis Perundingan Malaysian Agama Buddha, Kritisian,Hindu, Sikh dan Tao (MCC BCHST)
16.   Malaysian Indians Progressive Association (MIPAS)
17.   Malaysian Indians Transformation Action Team (MITRA)
18.   Malaysian Physicians for Social Responsibility (MPSR)
19.   Malaysian Youth Care Association (PRIHATIN)
20.   National Human Rights Society (HAKAM)
21.   National Indian Rights Action Team (NIAT)
22.   Oriental Hearts and Mind Study Institute (OHMSI)
23.   People Welfare And Rights Organisation (POWER)
24.   Persatuan Aliran Kesedaran Negara (ALIRAN)
25.   Persatuan Kesedaran Komuniti Selangor (EMPOWER)
26.   Persatuan Masyarakat Selangor dan Wilayah Persekutuan (PERMAS)
27.   Persatuan Promosi Hak Asasi Manusia (PROHAM)
28.   Persatuan Rapat Malaysia (RAPAT)
29.   Pertubuhan IKRAM Malaysia(IKRAM)
30.   Projek Dialog (PD)
31.   Pusat KOMAS
32.   Rainbow Genders Society
33.   Sahabat Rakyat
34.   Save Rivers Sarawak
35.   Saya Anak Bangsa Malaysia (SABM)
36.   Sisters in Islam (SIS)
37.   Street Voice
38.   Suara Rakyat Malaysia (SUARAM)
39.   Tamil Foundation Malaysia (TF)
40.   Tamilar Action Force (TAF)
41.   Tenaganita Women’s Force
42.   The Federation & Alumni Associations Taiwan University, Malaysia (FAATUM)
43.   The KL & Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall
44.   Tindak Malaysia
45.   United Chinese School Alumni AssocNs of Malaysia (UCSAAM)
46.   Women’s Centre for Change (WCC)
47.   Women Development Organization of Malaysia, PJ Branch
48.   Writer Alliance for Media Independence (WAMI)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *